TL;DR
Get business pricing on tech for your team
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
Retell says its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls per month with help from OpenAI models. The available announcement does not specify the measurement period, how calls are counted, or which models are used.
Retell says its voice AI service handles 100 million calls a month, with OpenAI models helping power the platform. The figure signals substantial reported usage, but the announcement details available here do not explain how calls are counted or identify the models involved.
The announcement describes a connection between Retell’s voice AI platform and OpenAI models, and reports a monthly volume of 100 million calls. It does not say whether that number represents completed calls, call attempts, or another measure of platform activity.
The available details also do not identify which OpenAI models Retell uses, what tasks they perform during a call, or how much of the reported volume depends on them. No customer list, breakdown by use case, or comparison with an earlier call volume is provided.
Voice AI · Reported platform activity
Retell Uses OpenAI Models To Help Power 100M Monthly Calls
Retell says its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls each month with help from OpenAI models. The headline points to substantial reported usage, while key details about the count and model roles remain undisclosed.
What the figure tells us: Retell reports scale. It does not, by itself, establish completed conversations, service quality, or business outcomes.
At a glance
The announcement in four points
The available details connect Retell’s voice AI service with OpenAI models and report a monthly call total. The measurement remains difficult to compare without a definition or a dated period.
Reading the scale claim
What 100 million does—and doesn’t—show
A large reported call volume offers a glimpse of platform activity, but it cannot answer every question about use, performance, or growth.
Substantial activity
Retell says its voice AI service handles 100 million calls monthly, signaling the scale at which the company says it operates.
Voice automation at scale
Usage at this level could matter to organizations evaluating automated phone services and to providers supplying underlying models.
Outcomes or growth
The figure does not show unique users, successful calls, cost savings, service quality, or an increase over an earlier baseline.
The information gap
The call count needs context
The available announcement does not define “call,” name a measurement period, or describe which OpenAI models are used. That leaves the headline volume as a company-reported figure rather than an independently comparable performance measure.
It is unclear whether the total includes attempts, completed conversations, repeated calls, or another activity measure.
No dated measurement period or reporting window is specified in the available details.
The specific OpenAI models, their tasks, and the share of calls that use them are not identified.
No figures are provided here for accuracy, latency, customer outcomes, pricing, or independent verification.
How to interpret it
From announcement to assessment
More reporting would make the headline easier to interpret and compare with other voice AI services.
Retell says the platform handles 100 million calls per month.
Period, counting method, model names, and model roles are not specified.
Treat it as reported usage, not a verified measure of outcomes or growth.
Where I land
A notable claim with limited context
Scale is the signal
If the figure reflects completed customer conversations across a clearly defined period, 100 million monthly calls would indicate meaningful operational use. The available details do not establish that interpretation.
More than a headline number
A dated measurement period, clear call-count definition, models’ roles, and evidence about call completion or customer outcomes would make the claim easier to assess and compare.
Key questions
What readers may want to know
What did Retell announce?
Retell says its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls per month with help from OpenAI models.
Which OpenAI models does it use?
The available announcement details do not identify specific models or explain the tasks they perform.
How does Retell count a call?
The method is not specified. It is unclear whether the total includes attempted calls, completed calls, or another measure.
Does the figure show growth?
No earlier baseline or comparison period is provided, so the monthly figure does not establish a growth rate.
Scale Raises Questions About Voice AI
A reported 100 million calls per month offers a measure of the scale at which Retell says its service operates. Voice AI systems can handle conversations by phone, so usage at that level could matter to organizations considering automated voice services and to providers supplying the underlying models.
The number alone does not establish how many people use the service, how many calls it completes successfully, or whether it reduces costs or improves service. Without a stated counting method and performance data, readers cannot compare the figure directly with other platforms or assess the quality of the interactions.
Products Worth Considering

Sony WH-1000XM4C Wireless Noise-Cancelling Headphones, Black

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Noise-Cancelling Over-Ear Headphones, Black

Sonos Era 100 SL Compact Microphone-Free Speaker, Black
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Retell’s Model-Powered Call Service
Retell provides a platform for voice AI, and the announcement says OpenAI models help power it. In a voice service, models may contribute to parts of a spoken interaction, but the available announcement does not describe Retell’s technical setup or specify which functions OpenAI models handle.
The headline figure is a monthly call count, not a measure of revenue, unique users, or successful outcomes. No time series or prior baseline is supplied, so it cannot be described as a growth rate or an increase over an earlier period.
Call Counts and Model Roles
It remains unclear when the 100 million monthly figure was measured and how Retell defines a call. The announcement details available here do not say whether the count includes inbound and outbound calls, repeated attempts, or calls that reach a completed conversation.
The specific OpenAI models, their role in the service, and the share of calls that use them are also unspecified. There is no disclosed information here about accuracy, latency, customer outcomes, pricing, or how the figure was independently verified.
More Detail Would Clarify Scale
Further details from Retell could clarify the reporting period, counting method, and what the monthly total includes. Information on the OpenAI models used and their role in calls would also help readers understand the partnership beyond the headline figure.
For now, the announcement establishes Retell’s reported volume and its stated use of OpenAI models. It does not provide a next milestone or a timeline for additional disclosures.
Where I land
My assessment is that this is a notable scale claim, but a limited one. If the count reflects completed customer conversations across a clearly defined period, 100 million monthly calls would indicate meaningful operational use for Retell’s voice AI service. The announcement, as described here, does not give enough detail to establish that interpretation.
The strongest counterargument is that a company announcement may reasonably focus on a headline usage metric, while implementation and customer details are commercially sensitive. I would revise my assessment if Retell provided a clear counting method, a dated measurement period, the models’ roles, and evidence about call completion or customer outcomes. Until then, the figure is best understood as Retell’s reported volume rather than an independently comparable measure of performance.
Source: OpenAI
Key Questions
What did Retell announce?
Retell says its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls per month with help from OpenAI models.
Which OpenAI models does Retell use?
The available announcement details do not identify the specific models or explain what tasks they perform.
How does Retell count a call?
The counting method is not specified. It is unclear whether the figure includes attempted calls, completed calls, or another measure.
Does the figure show growth?
No comparison period or earlier baseline is provided, so the 100 million monthly calls figure cannot establish a growth rate.
Source: OpenAI
